• Next Generation Agronomy, Cassava Harvest
    Farmers on the Plateau de Bateke, DR Congo enjoying a good cassava harvest
  • Next Generation Agronomy, maize grains
    A selection of different maize varieties from DR Congo
  • Next Generation Agronomy, cassva planting sticks
    Properly cut cassava planting sticks

Bienvenue sur le site Web Agronomie Next Generation.

Les tropiques humides de l’Afrique sub-saharienne est la région du monde la plus faible augmentation de la production alimentaire, les rendements les plus faibles pour les principales cultures vivrières et les niveaux en conséquence élevés de pauvreté et de malnutrition.

Le manioc et le maïs sont les cultures les plus importantes et souvent cultivées en association, mais peu a été fait pour optimiser cette culture intercalaire et informations manquent sur la compatibilité de variétés de manioc et de maïs pour maximiser les rendements. Ce site web a été lancé pour communiquer les résultats de recherche d’un projet financé par le CIMMYT menée par l’IITA en République démocratique du Congo, intitulé

L’évaluation de l’aptitude à la culture intercalaire de contraste variétés de maïs et de manioc dans les régimes agronomiques intensification long d’un transect à travers le sud RD Congo

Bien que ce soit un projet avec une forte culture géographique et concentrer la vision est de développer ce site web dans un forum général pour les agronomes et d’autres chercheurs travaillant sur des solutions aux problèmes de la production alimentaire en Afrique tropicale humide sub-saharienne.

• Next Generation Agronomy, Cassava Harvest
    Farmers on the Plateau de Bateke, DR Congo enjoying a good cassava harvest
  • Next Generation Agronomy, maize grains
    A selection of different maize varieties from DR Congo
  • Next Generation Agronomy, cassva planting sticks
    Properly cut cassava planting sticks

Welcome to the Next Generation Agronomy Web Site.

The humid Tropics of Sub-Saharan Africa is the region of the world with the lowest increase in food production, the lowest yields for the major food crops and accordingly high levels of poverty and malnutrition.

Cassava and maize are the most important crops and often grown in association, yet little has been done to optimize this intercrop and information is lacking on the compatibility of cassava and maize varieties to maximize yields. This web site was initiated to communicate research results of a CIMMYT funded project conducted by IITA in the Democratic Republic of Congo, titled

Assessment of the suitability for intercropping of contrasting maize and cassava varieties under intensified agronomic regimes along a transect through southern DR Congo

While this is a project with a strong geographic and crop focus the vision is to develop this web site into a general forum for agronomists and other researchers working on solutions to problems in food production in humid tropical Sub-Saharan Africa.